Cycling in a group is bad-ass even if I am in the back

So I went for my second group ride on my new road bike. And I think I’ve found a new hobby. There is something about pumping down on your pedals, getting your heart up to 160+ for a good 3-5 minutes, and then coasting down at up to 40 MPH. There’s something about doing this all within a group of other and all leaning into all the curves. It is an individual sport, but you can do it as part of a team — sometime you are pushing others along as you pass them, and other times you are being pulled along to keep up.

And then there is that flying down a hill at 40 MPH on a 10 lb heap of material.

Leave a Reply

