Top Ways to Lose Fat Fast

Last year I was able to drop 20 pounds in just under 2 months (of course, my “foodie” gene kicked in, and when combined with my desk-job, I gained the weight and then some when I started to slack on exercise and portion control). While this isn’t as great as Tim Ferris’ How To Drop 20 lbs of Fat in 30 days without exercise, a lot of our tactics were similar.

Avoid “white” carbohydrates
Never pick up fried food with breading. It’s not worth it. Avoid bread, rice, cereal, potatoes, and pastas whenever possible. If you start craving carbs, pick up whole wheat anything, as it provides fiber and protein.

Weekly grocery list staples
Add the following items to your grocery list — you really can’t eat “too” much of these items.

Proteins:
Egg whites with one whole egg for flavor
Chicken breast or thigh
Pork
Lamb (instead of beef)

Legumes:
Peanuts
Lentils
Black beans
Pinto beans

Vegetables:
Spinach
Asparagus
Peas
Mixed vegetables

Eat more often, just less amounts
Most athletes eat 6-8x per day to break up caloric load and avoid fat gain. While this isn’t possible for everyone, try to aim for 4-5 daily “meals.”

Don’t drink calories
Nearly all drinks consist only of sugars and carbs. Stave off hunger by drinking massive amounts of water instead. Try no-calorie soft drinks at your discretion.

Take one day off per week
This was my favorite. Once a week I could eat anything I wanted, as much as I wanted, whenever. I would literally eat so much of a good thing that I would go a whole week without craving it. It was like Pavlov was ringing the bell.

Leave a Reply

