How Much Water Should I Drink While Exercising?

In preparation for my third Peachtree 10k, today is one of my weekly long runs. It’s also the beginning of summer here in Georgia, which isn’t particularly a runner-friendly climate. This had me thinking about something wet and wild — hydration.

I often struggle with staying properly hydrated while exercising. I know this because I often inflict the following pains upon myself:

  • I get cramps on my sides, which means I need to take deep breaths.
  • I get stomach cramps, which means I ate to much or too recently.
  • I get muscle cramps, which means I’m dehydrated.

How Much Water Should I Drink?

So, this led to me wonder how much should I drink before, during, and after exercising?

  • Drink a glass of water 10-15 minutes before you start to exercise.
  • Plan to drink fluids every 20-30 minutes during exercise.
  • Drink 20-24 ounces for each pound lost during exercise to help replenish fluids.

I also found some other advice on how to stay hydrated to avoid cramps, as well as simply stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

