Vegan Chili Recipe

vegan chili served in a bowl

During my now 5 week experiment eating Vegan Plus, one of my favorite recipes has been a vegan chili one my wife found online. Not to toot my own horn, but this is the best rootin’ tootin’ vegan chili in the known galaxy. To echo a comment about the vegan chili as found on the Doctor Oz website:

This recipe has made me a believer that meat is not needed to enjoy awesome chili!

How to make Vegan Chili “Meaty”

In addition to the the basic chili ingredients — beans, tomatoes, chili powder, I think this particular recipe gets it’s “meatiness” from ample use of carrots, celery, and onions. All these veggies serve to thicken the chili; the chopped carrots give it some meaty heft.

Carrots, Celery, Onions

Ingredients for Vegan Chili

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped onions, divided
  • 3/4 cup chopped celery
  • 3/4 cup chopped carrots
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 cups chopped green and/or red bell pepper
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 (28-oz) can of diced tomatoes with liquid
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 (15-oz) can organic black beans, drained
  • 1 (15-oz) can organic kidney beans, drained
  • 1 (11-oz) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 1/2 tbsp basil
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Directions for Vegan Chili

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Saute 1-1/2 cups of onions, celery and carrots until soft.
  2. Stir in peppers, garlic, chili powder and cumin. Cook about 6 minutes.
  3. Stir in tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, and corn. Season as desired (basil, salt and pepper).
  4. Bring to a boil, and reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Stir in lime juice and cilantro just before serving.

vegan chili

13 thoughts on “Vegan Chili Recipe

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I made this chili last night and I’ve got two quick questions. First, what do you do with the other 1/2 cup of onions? Is that reserved for a garnish? And second, do you not add any liquid other than the liquid from the canned tomatoes? I ended up adding some tomato sauce and water because it was too thick. (I used Eden organic diced tomatoes.) Thanks!

    • Emily: Yes, add the onions as garnish with the cilantro (or not!). I do not add any additional liquids — the photo shows without additional water and all drained cans. I found that the veggies contain a lot of water.

      I don’t recommend adding tomato sauce, however, as it will possibly overpower the other flavors. If it too thick for your liking, just add two or three cans of water.

  2. I made this for Super Bowl Sunday last year and sat it next to a bacon loaded chili I also made. Let’s just say, there was plenty of the bacon chili left over :-).

  3. It’s Super Bowl Sunday and off I go to the grocery store. I make this recipe often and am so glad to be able to jump to your sight to remind myself of how to make it!!

    • That’s good to hear – glad you enjoy it! On Feb 7, 2016 12:21 PM, “Ruminations From a Redhead” wrote:

      >

  4. Ah ha. I guess this is what happened the last time I tried to make vegan chili. The recipe called for tomato sauce, and then it tasted like tomato sauce so I kept adding chili powder until it became inedible. I will try this recipe with tomato paste and a can of tomatoes. 🙂

    • Think of paste as pure concentrated tomato flavor. Sauce has a bunch of other stuff including water, and fresh tomatoes are watered down. The secret is the paste! On Mar 10, 2016 12:24 PM, “Ruminations From a Redhead” wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

